Kansas IPS mandate
Under K.A.R. 91-31-32(g)(3), every student completes an Individual Plan of Study starting in 8th grade, including a strengths finder, career-interest inventory, aligned coursework, and postsecondary plan.
Kansas's IPS mandate is highly specific: every student must take a career-interest inventory, identify their strengths through a formal assessment, align high school courses to that inventory, and develop a postsecondary plan. These four elements are non-negotiable under state regulations.
Unlike some states that leave implementation loose, Kansas requires clear linkage between what students discover about themselves (via the inventory) and the actual courses they take. The result is a more deliberate pathway from middle school through the postsecondary landscape, with career clarity driving course selection.
Checked against K.A.R. 91-31-32(g)(3), not against a category description.
Sequenced across the 7th-12th grade arc.
Real tools and workarounds we found in use for IPS compliance — not a hypothetical shortlist.
This page is one of 38 verified career-plan mandate pages JobCannon tracks, each citing a primary statute or regulation — for the Kansas IPS mandate that source is Kansas State Dept of Education - Individual Plan of Study. For the broader rollout picture, see career assessments for school districts, or the JobCannon for Business hub.
Scale is $199/mo and covers 200 people per billing period — one person, however many assessments they take, and a class-code arrival counts the same as an emailed invite. Growth is $999/mo for 1,000. Above that, or where enrolment should not be metered at all, it is an Enterprise conversation rather than a larger self-serve plan. A district-sized enrolment runs out of the monthly tiers quickly — the Education Licence below prices your whole enrolment per student for the year, assessments uncapped, and adds the full career and skills corpus.
For micro-teams trying the platform
For solo coaches and small HR
For startups, teams and HR
For agencies, L&D and scale-ups
For high-volume screening without a contract
For 200+ person companies
Self-serve checkout via Stripe — major cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Link. Cancel anytime; 14-day money-back on every paid plan. Enterprise via the contact form below.
One rate per enrolled student for the academic year, sized for Kansas district or school-level IPS rollouts. Assessments uncapped, career and skills corpus included — multiply your own enrolment by the band and you have the most this can cost before you talk to us.
$1.25 down to $0.80 per student, per year — assessments uncapped
That multiplication is a ceiling, not a bill. If our self-serve plans would cover the same number of students for less, you are quoted the lower figure — we do not sell an institution its own students back at a higher price than anyone can buy them for on the pricing page.
A large school, multi-school district or trust
A university, college or college group
A statewide or national programme
£350 per school, per year — a flat whole-school licence rather than a per-student rate, because that is the unit UK schools budget in. Same uncapped assessments and same corpus. Excludes VAT.
The ladder starts at 1,301 students. Below that a self-serve plan already covers your whole roll for less than a licence would, so that is what we will point you at — and UK schools have the flat whole-school licence above at any size. Bands are by enrolment, and the rate applies to your whole roll rather than to a seat count you have to predict. Invoiced annually against a purchase order; no per-assessment charge and nothing to top up mid-year. Assessing an institution's enrolled students is covered by the Education Licence, not by a hiring plan. What is in the corpus.
Tell us how many students you expect to assess in a term and what your review process asks for. If something on your requirements list is not in the product, we will say so in the reply rather than in the pilot.
Yes. The career-interest inventory is one of four mandatory IPS components under K.A.R. 91-31-32(g)(3). Every student must complete one.
Yes. Once a student completes the career-interest inventory, their high school course selections must reflect and align with those identified interests and their postsecondary goal.
The regulation requires a strengths finder—an assessment that helps students identify their abilities and talents. This can be a formal assessment, a skills inventory, or a guided reflection, as long as it surfaces the student's capabilities.
The IPS must begin no later than 8th grade. While the regulation does not specify a review cadence, best practice and CTE standards encourage annual revision as new information emerges.
Yes. JobCannon's RIASEC (career-interest assessment) and Skills Audit can fulfill both the career-interest inventory and strengths-finder requirements, providing a validated foundation for course selection and pathway planning.
The Kansas IPS mandate does not specify a state-funded tool; districts have flexibility in selecting or building their own platform to track and manage IPS components.